Pinkshinyultrablast - Everything Else Matters AC3011111

This item is unavailable.

Pinkshinyultrablast, a five-piece band from Saint-Petersburg in Russia, are set to release their debut album ‘Everything Else Matters’ in January.

Hailing from a city more synonymous with the State Conservatory rather than a gang of shoegaze addicts, they’ve been compared to Lush. But this is no mere throwback tribute - due to their sharp, icy electronics and ability to subvert the genre, bringing something new to the table. They possess not only the spirit of late 80s/early 90s British bands like Ride, but also machine-made sounds of the same era from Sabres Of Paradise or Global Communication, not to mention wider vibrations like Cluster, Popul Vuh, Terry Riley and Philip Glass.

Disdain for a stagnant scene can often be a driving force of creativity; the band say of St Petersburg that, “we realised the local indie scene was totally boring and wanted to play something radically different”. That vision has been realised – this is an album brimming with playful melody and finely-crafted songwriting. Imagine the scope of a Caribou record, fronted by Elizabeth Fraser soundtracking a grizzly Raskolnikov crime.

The band take their name from an Astrobrite album, an act who were, according to the band, instrumental in how they “researched spaces between ambient, heavy guitar and pop music” .The spaces are what stand out, the production creates a dream-like affair, while space to breathe and reflect on the beauty of the music is accommodated. There is a sparseness to the album that in turn gives spaciousness, even expansiveness.

Welcome to your new favourite Russian band.

Pinkshinyultrablast are Igor - bass, Lyubov - vocals, Sergey - drums, Rustam - synths and electronics and Roman – guitars.

All vinyl copies ordered here on the AC30 store come with free lossless digital downloads which unlock on the release date of 26th January 2015. All pre-orders of the "psych tiger" vinyl (third pressing) are shipping in early to mid April (or as soon as we get them in).

We've also pressed up the album now on CD, on a digipack format with a thick reverse board card sleeve.

Track Listing

  1. Wish We Were
  2. Holy Forest
  3. Glitter
  4. Metamorphosis
  5. Umi
  6. Land's End
  7. Ravestar Supreme
  8. Marigold

Pressing Information

300 copies on 180g sparkly translucent grey vinyl (starry sky), in a reverse board outer and full colour inner. SOLD OUT

300 (150 in the UK, 150 in the USA) copies on 180g ultraclear vinyl with orange and black spots, in a reverse board outer and full colour inner. DUE IN EARLY FEB -- SOLD OUT

500 copies on CD Digipack, with a rough reverse board sleeve.

500 (350 in the UK, 150 in the USA) copies on 180g "psych tiger" vinyl (transparent orange in black with an orange haze effect) , in a reverse board outer and full colour inner. DUE IN EARLY APRIL -- SOLD OUT