Purple Heart Parade - Lonestar EP AC3015044

“A swirling vortex of pounding drums and steely vocals that gives way to a melodic, trance-inducing rift.” - NME

“Purple Heart Parade are not the first band this year to show a talent for psych/shoegaze atmospherics, but they’re surely the best at delivering it with stately grace and majesty” - Metro

“With obvious influences firmly set in a psychedelic time… creepings of Dylan, Spiritualized, and underground rock bands give the all over effect of NOW” - Louder Than War

‘Lonestar EP’ is a sonic delight that revels in all things psychedelic, from 60s garage to 90s shoegaze, and recalls the likes of Spiritualized, Black Angels and Stone Roses. Reverb laden guitars are used to create an engulfing sea of feedback that washes over smooth melodies and slacker beats, while intense vocals are soaked in dreamlike effects that soar over effortless instrumentation.

It was recorded at Perry Vale Studios by Pat Collier (The Jesus and Mary Chain, X-Ray Spex) and conveys a number of personal themes from depression and grief to domestic violence. The band tells us; “We wear our hearts on our sleeve and pour that into our music. Everything is down to real experiences, real music about real life”. Yet alongside the depth of subject matter the release also contains a message of love, for one’s self and those around you.

It’s easy to hear the heart that has not only gone into each note but that encapsulates the bands entire ethos, none more than in lead single ‘Mission Hills’ which is about emotional distance in a relationship but also the loss of a close friend, a victim of the tragic Manchester Arena attack. It’s obvious here that the band don’t just capture the sound of their hometown but also carry a part of it with them in a very personal way.

The Band
Peter Cowap II - Vocals
Ryan Arnfield - Guitars
Sam Bugajski - Guitars
Ste Woods - Bass guitar
Chris Norwood - Drums

All orders will ship a week prior to the release date of 7th September 2018. All vinyl EPs contain a free lossless digital download link and card.

Track Listing

  1. The Room
  2. Mission Hills
  3. Butterfly House
  4. Lonestar

Pressing Information

250 copies on 180g 12" vinyl (solid white with purple splatters aka Purple Timewarp), on a heavy reverse board sleeve. almost SOLD OUT