Is Bliss - Strange Communication AC3016001

Portsmouth based psych aficionados, Is Bliss, are pleased to announce the release of their highly anticipated debut album ‘Strange Communication’, released 7th June via Club AC30.

Having received critical acclaim for their first two EP’s; ‘Velvet Dreams’ and the follow-up ‘The Honeycomb Explosion’, the south coast trio have been busy in the studio and have created a no nonsense, full on, psych induced jewel.

Formed via a shared love of Slowdive, Spacemen 3 and Verve, their incendiary live shows have caused a stir across the underground psych scene which has led to a swift rise for the band having formed in late 2015.

Signed to lauded London-based independent record label Club AC30 (Pinkshiunyultrablast/Ringo Deathstarr/Flyying Colours), Is Bliss have already supported the likes of The Jesus and Mary Chain, Wolf Alice, Telescopes, Nine Black Alps, Mark Gardener and Robin Guthrie in a whirlwind three years for the band.

On ‘Strange Communication’, Is Bliss paint a sprawling sonic picture. Opening with the impressive grandeur of ‘Belong’, the hypnotically charged reverberations of ‘Can’t Sleep Forever’ incite a drug-induced cataclysm. An emotional rawness can be heard in Jimmy Stuart’s passioned vocal and it sets the tone for ‘Strange Communication’. This is the sound of an individual desperate to say afloat as chaos ensues all around.

Melodic new single ‘All I See Is You’ is an intimate and confessional tale of love and heartbreak while the mesmeric ‘Fall’ evokes ‘A Storm in Heaven’ era Verve, fizzing with effervescent guitars and blissed out shoegaze.

Sitar and layers of droning instrumentation create a psychedelic paradise on the visceral ‘Wonder’ while the album pace is picked up a notch once more with ‘What To Believe’, a near-perfect amalgam of explosive sound before the reverb-charged ‘Lost Thoughts’ brings a close to the album.

Is Bliss have received a heavy dose of radio support from BBC Radio 6 Music including Lauren Laverne, Tom Ravenscroft and Radcliffe & Maconie along with BBC Introducing and Amazing Radio.

Is Bliss are Jimmy Stuart (vox, guitar), Dean Edwards (bass) and Sam Speakman (drums).

All copies ordered via the Club AC30 website will ship a week before the release date, and will contain lossless digital download email that unlocks on the release day.

Track Listing

  1. A1 - Belong
  2. A2 - Can t Sleep Forever
  3. A3 - All I See Is You
  4. A4 - Fall
  5. B1 - Wonder
  6. B2 - I Tried
  7. B3 - What To Believe
  8. B4 - Lost Thoughts

Pressing Information

500 copies on 180g transparent seafoam green vinyl, in a heavy reverse board sleeve. SOLD OUT
200 copies on CD in a full colour card slipcase