Ringo Deathstarr - Ringo Deathstarr AC3017001

This item is unavailable.

Texan shoegaze pioneers Ringo Deathstarr return with their new studio album, the eponymously named ‘Ringo Deathstarr’ out via Club AC30 on March 27th.

‘Ringo Deathstarr’ poetically sees the band in a stage of personal and musical maturity. A staple of the genre with a rich back catalogue of revered material, it’s on their sixth full length that Ringo Deathstarr address the kind of themes that can only come from life experience.

"Ringo Deathstarr" is a dynamic, introspective psychedelia, multi-layered album with Frazer and bassist Alex Gehring’s trademark, gorgeous, duel harmonies. ‘Nagoya’ opens with cinematic ambience before the groove-laden gothic allure of ‘God Help The Ones You Love’ and ‘Gazin’. An upbeat, more direct shoegaze bristling with a precision and confidence that’s rarely captured with such energy, and the 90s seeped ‘Once Upon A Freak’ as well as ‘Be Love’ elevate the bands now iconic sound pallet.

Elsewhere the reverb-soaked and dark 80s post-punk of ‘In Your Arms’ and ‘Heaven Obscured’ continue to show a band unwilling to stick to the rule book, with poppier sensibilities, while ‘Lazy Lane’ and ‘The Same Again’ showcase their more lo-fi and garage-rock leanings. And in true Deathstarr fashion album closer ‘Cotton Candy Clouds’ sees us out with a climatic cacophony of guitar work and riotous power from drummer Daniel Coborn.

Ringo Deathstarr began in Austin TX in 2005, but really came together in 2007 after Elliott recorded the first EP and recruited Alex. After a couple of tours and losing another drummer, Elliott’s high school friend Daniel joined up.

Over the band's lengthy career they’ve seen support from the likes of The Guardian, The Line Of Best Fit, Drowned In Sound, NME, VICE, Pitchfork, NPR, KEXP, BBC 6 Music, BBC Radio 1 and many more.

As with all releases ordered via the Club AC30 shop, this album will ship approximately one week prior to the actual release date, and will include a link for lossless digital download via email that unlocks on the day of release. The album is also released by The Reverberation Appreciation Society in North, Central and South America too.

Track Listing

  1. Nagoya
  2. God Help The Ones You Love
  3. Gazin
  4. Once Upon A Freak
  5. Disease
  6. Just Like You
  7. In Your Arms
  8. Heaven Obscured
  9. Lazy Lane
  10. The Same Again
  11. Be Love
  12. I Don t Want To Lose This
  13. Cotton Candy Clouds

Pressing Information

500 copies on 180g black vinyl, in a thick reverse board sleeve and full colour inner