Air Formation - Air Formation LP AC3021001

Brighton-based shoegazers Air Formation are set to release their self-titled sixth studio album this spring via Club AC30.

Inspired by bands such as Flying Saucer Attack, Spiritualized, Explosions In The Sky and The Jesus and Mary Chain, Air Formation’s music incorporates heavily delayed guitar and feedback, with droning keyboards, and ethereal vocals.

Forming in 2000, long before spiritual forbearers Slowdive, Ride and Loop were considered acceptable influences, the five-piece have been a mainstay of the modern shoegaze scene and have gained a devoted following, receiving critical acclaim from tastemakers including Consequence of Sound, Clash, and Louder Than War.

Briefly splitting in April 2011 after the release of their fourth studio album ‘Nothing to Wish For (Nothing to Lose)’, they reformed in 2014 for a special one-off show to celebrate 10 years of Club AC30. In 2018, the band released the critically acclaimed album ‘Near Miss’. “Time goes fast,” says guitarist and vocalist Matt Bartram. “We’re still figuring it all out. But most importantly, I think Air Formation still feels totally relevant. All the time we enjoy doing it we will keep at it,” he adds.

When it came to the writing and recording of the album, the band went back to listening to their favourite artists for influence including Bardo Pond and Mogwai to name a few, but ultimately, the album is influenced by all the Air Formation music that had come before. “How can we do something a bit different, but it still be Air Formation,” says Bartram.

From the blissed-out vibes of album opener ‘Pressure Drop’ to the anthemic guitar crescendos of ‘Only So Much Light’, Air Formation are masters of noise and effects, constantly exploring the outer limits of guitar texture and volume. On ‘Finding Gravity’, fuzzed-out guitars explode into beatific distortion, while ‘I Don't Want To Talk’ and ‘Crashing Out’ shimmer and swirl. Elsewhere, the deafening waves of noise of ‘The Day After Day’ and dreamy ‘Sparks Dies’ reveal a band who find the heart in fuzz, while album closer ‘The Final Wave’ is a gorgeous, heavily textured expanse.

Air Formation have performed live with some of their musical heroes over a 25-year period including Bardo Pond, The House of Love, A Place To Bury Strangers and Chapterhouse.

Air Formation is Matt Bartram (Guitars & Vocals), Ben Pierce (Bass), James Harrison (Drums), Ian Sheridan (Guitar) and Richard Parks (Keyboards).

Air Formation is released on the 19th April 2024. AC30 will ship any orders on the week of release, and lossless digital files from the AC30 shop will unlock on release day for vinyl purchases.

Track Listing

  1. Pressure Drop
  2. Only So Much Light
  3. Finding Gravity
  4. I Don't Want To Talk
  5. Crashing Out
  6. The Day After Day
  7. Sparks Die
  8. The Final Wave

Pressing Information

300 copies on 180g 12" transparent blue vinyl with silver splatters, thick reverse board sleeve, in a full colour inner, with polybag cover.